Don’t tell him Pike!

From my last blog you may remember that I thought I had managed to secure some declassified Chateau Lafite. I am pleased to report that this is the case.

declassified Lafite

 

This merchant does an impressive collection of declassifieds but as I have mentioned before they are very careful not to mention the names of the Chateaux where the wines originate from but clues abound. They say “A unique parcel declassified from the most famous 1st Growth in the appellation.”

lafite

Just who could this be?

Well I was fairly sure this must be Lafite but called the merchant to check. The lovely lady who picked up my call was unsure. I heard her say to her colleague “where is the Pauillac from” and  another voice said “it’s from Chateau Lafite but you can’t tell him that”.

6 bottles ordered and put away for a minimum of 4 years. Result, the grand vin sells for £360 a bottle.

It’s a great example of how declassified wine works. 2012 was reasonable vintage but only 38% of the grapes went into the grand vin. They have a second wine called Carruades de Lafite and some would have gone in to this with some also being declassified.

The cost of £21.00 per bottle is at the very top of my range but I hope it will turn in to a bargain. Only time will tell…

Next time, our trip to Alsace

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t tell him Pike!

  1. Richard Moody says:

    Have just acquired a half-case of the 2012 Pauillac- the shipping order from the warehouse describes it as “Pauillac Lafit 2012” ! (10 Oct.2014)

Leave a Reply

