Am I the only one who does not care for sauvignon blanc!

xmas party

I have spent most of the pre-Christmas party season dodging glasses of new world Sauvignon blanc. How has this upstart of a wine become the norm for the vast majority. What am I missing? It doesn’t age and it is overly acidic.

At an Indian meal I asked for a glass of chardonnay and the table went virtually quiet. One colleague suggested I was completely out of touch.

At a Chinese meal the same week I again was shouted down when suggesting we order a Gewürztraminer. I was over ruled 12 to 1 in favour of a New Zealand sauvignon blanc.

Today I begin a crusade to wean ourselves off sauvignon blanc. ABC (Anything but Chadonnay) killed that grape  15 years ago and perhaps it is time to go for ABSB and hope for a similar outcome.

Think of the lovely alternatives

Grüner Veltliner

Pinot Grigio

Picpoul de Pinet

Albariño

Winge over, Happy New Year to everbody

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Am I the only one who does not care for sauvignon blanc!

  1. Chris Burn says:

    Hi Mike
    Nice blog…and youre right that there is a kind of Sauvignon – and lots of it – which is suffering from / causing a problem similar to that of the old low quality, oak-masked Chardonnays….but, as with your Beaujolais experience, there’s Sauvignon and there’s Sauvignon. Avoid the generic one-dimensional gooseberry juice and you should find decent wines. Some with lees maturation even have quite some body / texture….so I’d just recommend not writng it off completely unless you’ve tasted some good quality examples, with a bit of complexity in them.
    Chris Burn

    • Man et Vin says:

      Hi Chris

      Thanks for your comments. You are of course right, better examples do exist. I guess my point was that it was the default choice of many. Just an attempt to provoke a discussion. Great site by the way!

      Mike

      • Chris Burn says:

        Hi Mike
        Thanks, and thanks for yours too…..and I do agree with your broad point and your suggestion of the other great varietals you mention. I suppose my concern – which I recognise is often a ‘big ask’ – is to get drinkers to look beyond the varietal badge and this whole default approach, which was at the root of the Chardonnay image decline, with Sauvignon now potentially at risk of the same, as your piece demonstrates. So I try to give people the confidence to try – and recognise – good quality, whatever the grape or price (above £6.00). It’s such a shame that people miss out on great wines because they think ‘I don’t like Chardonnay’! Keep up your efforts to rehabiliate it and provoke discussion!

      • Man et Vin says:

        Chris

        Another similar tale this week. With workmates in a relatively smart hotel in Birmingham, I ordered a chardonnay from southern france, only to be greeted by shouts of they were pleased that Bridget Jones could join the them. I did try to provoke the discussion further but to no avail. I’ll keep trying…..

Leave a Reply

