A trip to the Rhone

If you are  a regular reader of my blogs you will know that the Rhone region makes my favourite wines. A recent holiday in Provence staying at the wonderful Mas Pomona gave us the ability to visit. The grapes looked in good nick!

grapes at Gigondas

We visited many of the villages I buy my wines from including Rasteau, Cairanne and Gigondas. The latter is a beautiful village nestling under the Dentelles de Montmirail, an impressive range of mountains.

dentelles

You can see it’s a fairly tough place to grow grapes. Whilst we were there it was blisteringly hot with a 50km/h Mistral. Quite a combo!

Gigondas

After we had walked for an hour or so we decided we needed lunch. Earlier we had seen a lovely restaurant in the main square in Gigondas called L’oustalet, a quick look at the menu and we were in.

L'oustalet gigondas

We decided to order a glass of wine each, I had to order a Gigondas and my wife fancied a rose. She spotted that of the two roses on offer, one was from Chateau Miraval. We knew that this was produced  by Jolie/Pitt at their place in Provence. On ordering, the waiter said to my wife ” do you know about this wine?…….the producer is sitting right behind you”. My wife swung around hurriedly expecting to see Mr Pitt but alas it was the wine maker, one Marc Perren, who acts as a consultant to the Hollywood couple. I was more excited by this as he is Rhone Royalty! His family is behind many of the top wines.

We had a lovely meal, how is this for a desert.

mas pomona 2013 165

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in rhone and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

