Gewurztraminer

I know at the end of my last blog I said I would have a crack at some Australian wines, but alas time has not allowed. I will do something about it over the next few months though.

I don’t think I can ever remember a time where I have been served a glass of gewurztraminer at someone’s home. It’s a wine that’s off the radar to most of us. Whether it’s the difficult nature of pronouncing it or because it comes in that bottle-shape that we tend to associate with sweet german reisling of the 80’s.

gerw

We have been visiting the Tarn Thai restaurant in Nottingham a fair bit over the last few months and this is a superb accompaniment to spicy, salty, sweet thai food. It can cope with anything that you throw at it. Unusually with a wine, I find that the more affordable, less sophisticated versions seem to taste better with spicy food than the more aged high-end ones

It is a very full bodied wine with a deep golden colour. The grape skins of the gerwurz grape are pink which gives it this richness of colour. The vines thrive in cooler climes so as well as its most famous host, Alsace  great examples can be found in New Zealand and southern Chile

Fact of the day—-Gerwurz is German for spicy

For a good producer keep your eyes out for Gewurztraminer Cave de Turckheim. Available from Waitrose, Majestic and Sainsbury’s amongst others.

 

 

 

 

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gewurztraminer

  1. Jonathan MacKechnie-Jarvis says:

    Glad to see you like me are a keen Wine Society member. Have you noticed that the beautiful Society logo has been changed for a feeble typeset imitation ? The Society says this is to make it more ‘legible and relevant’. I feel that Society members should protest at this vandalism. Will you join me in this – emails to Robin Macmillan, the CEO.

Leave a Reply

