Happy New Year

halloweenxmasnew year 2004 059

 

Well, happy new year to all.  I am pleased to report the site has gone from strength this year with nearly 500 hits a month which is more than I ever dared hope for.

The start of a new year is traditionally  a time when we can take stock of last year and make some plans for the forthcoming one.

Taking a look at the stats from my site, the most visited  topic by some distance is all about declassified wine so I will try to build on this later in the springtime.

The other thing I noticed is just how French-centric my blogs are. I am unapologetic for this as I firmly believe that they make the best wines in the world. However this year I will endeavour  to look further afield.

I will set myself the most difficult challenge first. It’s probably about 5 years since I bought any wine from Australia, in that time the exchange rate has  worsened by nearly 40%. I remember becoming bored with their offerings as their appeared too formulaic. Many brands were owned by the same multinationals and they seemed just interested in volume. It seems that over production has meant this has changed so let’s see what they can do in a future blog.

I will leave you with my favourite wine of the past few months, and probably the best wine label ever.

negly 002

Available from Vineyards direct

http://www.fromvineyardsdirect.com/wine/negly.php

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

