In praise of The Wine Society

“The focus, as defined in 1874, continues to be to make available to members the highest possible quality of wines and services at the best possible prices.”

Based on the above statement why o why would you not become a member. I only hold two memberships in life, one is the Wine Society and the other is my Dentist’s practise. I can tell you now that the WS was easier to join and a lot less expensive.

The Wine Society is a consumer co-operative owned by its members and exists exclusively for their benefit. The cost is of  a lifetime share is £40.00 and if you join before 31st December you even get £20.00 off your first order.

I joined five years ago and the saving on my first order of Alsatian wines covered my membership fee alone.

As well as a vast selection of wines from around the world, they offer two ranges.

The Society wines are  good value and reliable  and show case classic grape and wine styles. The Exhibition range is a step up from here. The wines are usually the best cuvées from top producers and are perfect for special occasions . I know this sounds like a gushing  advert so far but it’s not intended to be.

My family conducted a taste test over a long long lunch the other day and the everyday wines were just fine, averaging £5.57 a bottle. The Exhibition wines, well for the £9.00 to £11.00 price tag, I think you can do better, they were just not special enough .   To validate the test there were 12 of us around the dinner table and we opened 10 bottles. Of this number, five  were under 8 years old and we had two drivers. Yes, it amazed me as well !

A great success for the Society is its range of sparkling wines. My wife enjoys her bubbles at the weekend and these wines are all good value and offer an improved taste on the Prosecco or Cava we normally see.

Worth looking into…

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In praise of The Wine Society

  1. Roel says:

    Another fine review. Great to see your in Holland in a few weeks time.

Leave a Reply

