Birthday Wines

As life’s clock ticks by and family and friends become older I find it increasingly difficult to source interesting presents. It was quite the thing a few years ago to gift a bottle of wine from the year of birth but I must say I haven’t done this recently.

As we approach  madam a vin’s birthday I remember a couple of generous gifts that her cousin bestowed on the family. He used to own the well renowned Whytes restaurant in Brighton so knew a thing or two about the grape.

For my father in-laws special birthday he managed to source a bottle of Banyuls from his birth year 1929.

He chose not to drink it immediately but waited to the following Christmas to share with all us. Obviously its colour had mellowed over time but it was quite an experience. As I researched this wine I discovered that it has been noted as one of the best 1000 wines of all time. Amazing.

http://fine-magazines.epaper.fi/reader/?issue=5436;6150f51abab0fadfc4bfd34082f8976f;142

A slightly less successful  present was one for my wife’s birthday where he gave her a bottle of Brane Cantanec  Grand Cru Classe from 1965. Robert Parker described it as being “despicably bad”, we have never opened it.

So, if the birth year is a disastrous vintage maybe the thing to do is to find the best vintage after that. I am sure no one would mind shaving a few years off !!

 

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in Red Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

