The Brilliant Brillat-Savarin

I will apologise to you upfront for this blog as it is more tenuous than usual.

It all starts with a picnic near Gsteig in Switzerland.

We had picked up a few bits and bobs from the local supermarket in the better known Gstaad.  In actual fact Pernet Comestibles is a bit more than just a supermarket, it’s like Harrods food hall on steroids with a wine selection to match.

Armed with our bread, cheese, tomatoes and fruit he headed for the hills. It was one of those magical moments, great simple food, cow bell’s ringing and a cuckoo calling from the forest. The cheese we had chosen was Brillat-Savarin , a soft white cow’s cheese. It was one of the best ever for us.

On further investigation  I found that Jean Anthelme Brillat-Savarin  was a lawyer, politician and gastronome of some note. As well has having this cheese named after him he came out with some corking quotes.

“A dessert without cheese is like a beautiful woman with only one eye”

“Tell me what you eat, and I will tell you what you are.”

But my favourite is when he was offered some grapes with his cheese. He exclaimed  “Much obliged,’  pushing the plate aside, ‘I am not accustomed to take my wine in pills.”

He also came up with the notion that you should add a tablespoon of water to a decanter before adding the wine as he felt this would open the wine’s flavours up. Now I know you do this with whisky so I will give it a go and report back to you.

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

