Decanting Wine

I think we would all agree that decanting a red wine nearly always pays dividends.

If I were a Georgian or Edwardian gentleman I would have used something like this

In those days, wine had to be decanted as then of course they weren’t filtered and everything was a little more primitive.

Today we have an amazing choice of vessel available, some quite simple some a little more complicated like this beauty from Reidel. However, it does look like something you might find in a hospital cupboard.

 

Decanting a cheap plonk for 20 to 30 mins certainly makes it taste a little better. For something with a more bottle age like this Brunello from 2003 an hour or two is warranted.

I tasted it straight away on opening and again after an hour. Its improved aromas and roundness were clear to tell.

To me, the big issue has always been the decanters themselves. They always seem to drip and of course it creates extra washing up. They seemed to be designed to admire rather than use. So, can I let you in to a little secret. The pictures below show how I do it without fuss

   And then an hour later back into the bottle while no one is watching

To be honest this bottle was a gift, so they always taste better anyway. So, as I am no gentleman I will continue with my solution.

Next time “Natural wines”

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

