2009 Rhone En Primeur

As well as being an exceptional year in Bordeaux, 2009 has produced a great vintage in The Rhone. If you have never bought en primeur before this may be the best opportunity for some time. The wines are affordable and  available.

Northern Rhone, where experts think this is the best vintage for 20 years  is dominated by the Syrah grape. The style is clean and robust.

Southern Rhone tend to be Grenache based, producing a red fruit based wine. Some people describe it as crunchy but I have never reallly known what that means

Berry Brothers campaign begins tomorrow so I will be keen to pick up some wine from producer, Emmanual Darnard. I bought some in 2007 and it has been a firm favourite since.

Find details of the offer here  

http://www.bbr.com/download/rhone2009.pdf

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in rhone and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2009 Rhone En Primeur

  1. andy says:

    Hi Mike, cheers for tip. will certainly follow it up. we were in Henry Bloem’s in Den Bosch at the weekend. we could have done with getting your tip slightly earlier! speak soon, andy

Leave a Reply

