Reisling The most versatile of grapes ?

What grape variety can produce the most bone dry of wines, go through that petrol emotion to the sweetest of desert wines. The answer is reisling , the grape variety that always seems on the cusp of greatness, yet has never quite attained it.

The grape originated in the Rhine area and now is grown all over the world.  I think my favourites come from the Alsace area but I have enjoyed superb examples from Australia, Chile, Austria and even Switzerland.

They are also very hardy grapes, the Chanton family of Visp in the Valais  grow their grapes at some of the highest altitudes in Europe, some 1000M and more above sea level.  Their wines are delicious

http://www.chanton.ch/home.html

However, Alsace is here my heart lies. I stumbled across a fab one at The Fernand Bise in Tallories. Surely one of the best restaurant views anywhere

 The Fernand Bise should not be confused with the Pere Bise situated next door which is run by the fearsome Madame Bise. My wife and I have been ordered away from the premises just for looking slightly scruffy whilst reading the menu on the gate. Well, OK it was just me who was a bit dishevelled.

The wine I drank here was the Hugel Reisling from 2005. A great vintage year showing characteristics of the petrol and kerosene notes that can distinguish real quality.

A really full wine like this is not to be drunk too often so I will often look for something less aged such as the Trimbach 2008 pictured below.

The Trimbach family have been making wines since 1626 and the Hugel’s since 1639 so I guess they can be patient for a little while longer until reisling is recognized as the King Of White Grapes !

Both these wines are available from the wine society

www.thewinesociety.com

About Man et Vin

I am a 47 year old living in Nottingham. Maybe, like me, you have become disillusioned by the quality and variety of most wine that is sold in the UK. I am not anti supermarket or wine store but there must be more out there. Please join me on my journey to find decent good value wine. At the same time I want to find out more about storage, availablity and discover some of the lesser known wine growing areas. I have nothing to do with the wine industry, as it happens I am a middle manager in a financial services company.
This entry was posted in White Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

